Published On: Sat, May 26th, 2012

Banks in India-City Union Bank

City Union Bank

City Union Bank:City Union Bank is a premier South Indian bank; earlier known as ‘The Kumbhakonam Bank Ltd’ and is considered amongst the top banks in India. It was incorporated as a limited company on 31st October, 1904. The first branch of the Bank was opened at Mannargudi on 24th Jan 1930 and since then it has come a long way in customer satisfaction and service delivery. The Bank took over the assets and liabilities of the Commonwealth Bank Limited in 1957 at Aduthurai, Kodavasal, Valangaiman, Jayankondacholapuram and Ariyalur Branches. The City Forward Bank Limited and The Union Bank Limited were also amalgamated in April, 1965.

As of 1st Feb 2009, the bank has a network of 202 branches spread in different parts of the country.

Share This:

Post your Comments

Kerala's Own Handicraft Online Store

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

official website of GKTODAY-General Knowledge Today