Published On: Mon, Feb 7th, 2011

Laureus Sports Award Winners 2011

The No. 1-ranked tennis player Rafael Nadal was named the sportsman of the year while Lindsey Vonn, an American skiing champion, won the sportswoman of the year award at a ceremony on Monday in Abu Dhabi.

In the other awards, Spain’s World Cup squad won the team of the year; Italian motorcycle champion Valentino Rossi claimed the comeback of the year award; French football great Zinedine Zidane won the lifetime achievement award and American surfer Kelly Slater took the action sportsperson of the year.

Winners were chosen by 46 the sports stars who make up the Laureus sports academy.

Share This:

Post your Comments

Kerala's Own Handicraft Online Store

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

official website of GKTODAY-General Knowledge Today