Published On: Tue, Dec 17th, 2013

The 97th annual Pulitzer Prizes and its details

Pulitzer Prizes, 2013

For Public Service: The Sun Sentinel of Fort Lauderdale, Florida, for its investigation of off-duty police officers who were endangering the lives of citizen.

For National Reporting: Reporters at InsideClimate News, an online site in Brooklyn, New York, for their “rigorous” reports on the flawed regulation of the nation’s oil pipelines.
For International Reporting: David Barboza of The New York Times, for his exposure of corruption at high levels of the Chinese government, including secret wealth owned by relatives of the Prime Minister.

For Investigative reporting: Two reporters for The New York Times, David Barstow and Alejandra Xanic von Bertrab, for their reports on how Wal-Mart used widespread bribery to dominate the market in Mexico.

For Explanatory Journalism: The staff of The New York Times, for its coverage of business practices by Apple and other technology companies that “illustrates the darker side of a changing global economy for workers and consumers”.

For Feature Writing: John Branch of The New York Times, for his “evocative narrative” about skiers killed in an avalanche.
For Breaking News Reporting: Denver Post, for its coverage of the deadly mass shooting at a movie theatre in Aurora, Colorado.
For Local Reporting: Brad Schrade, Jeremy Olson and Glenn Howatt of the Star Tribune in Minneapolis, for their reporting on a spike in infant deaths at poorly regulated day-care homes that resulted in legislative action.

For Commentary: Bret Stephens of The Wall Street Journal, for his columns on US foreign policy and domestic politics.

For Criticism: Philip Kennicott of The Washington Post, for his “eloquent and passionate” essays on art and social forces.

For Editorial Writing: Tim Nickens and Daniel Ruth of the Tampa Bay Times of St. Petersburg, Florida, for work that helped reverse a decision to end fluoridation of the local water supply.
For Editorial Cartooning: Steve Sack of the Star Tribune in Minneapolis.

For photography (Breaking News): Rodrigo Abd, Manu Brabo, Narciso Contreras, Khalil Hamra and Muhammed Muheisen of the Associated Press, for their coverage of the civil war in Syria.

For Feature Photography: Javier Manzano, a freelance photographer for Agence France-Presse, for his picture of Syrian rebel soldiers.

For Fiction: “The Orphan Master’s Son” by Adam Johnson.

For Drama: “Disgraced” by Ayad Akhtar, a play about a successful corporate lawyer coming to terms with his Pakistani Muslim heritage.

For History: “Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America’s Vietnam” by Fredrik Logevall, published by Random House,

For Biography: “The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo” by Tom Reiss, published by Crown.

For Poetry: “Stag’s Leap” by Sharon Olds, published by Alfred A. Knopf.

For general nonfiction: “Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America” by Gilbert King, published by Harper.

For Music: Caroline Shaw, for “Partita for 8 Voices”.

The 97th annual Pulitzer Prizes were awarded by Columbia University and are the most prestigious prizes in US journalism.

Share This:

Post your Comments

Kerala's Own Handicraft Online Store

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

official website of GKTODAY-General Knowledge Today