Published On: Mon, Dec 8th, 2014

Tim Howard won the 2014 US Player of the Year award

Clint Dempsey US Soccer

US football team goalkeeper Tim Howard on 5 December 2014 won the 2014 US Player of the Year award for his work with the U.S. national team.

Howard received 101 first-place votes from a panel of journalist nationwide thus beating compatriot footballer Jermaine Jones and Clint Dempsey to win the award.

It is the first time that Howard has won the prestigious honor given to a U.S. team member.

He had made eight appearances for the national team including some spectacular performances at the 2014 FIFA World Cup. He made 16 saves in the Americans’ 2-1 loss in extra time to Belgium in the second round in Brazil.

He became the second keeper to win the award after Kasey Keller. Kasey Keller got this award twice.

Howard also won US Soccer’s Male Athlete of the Year.

Share This:

Post your Comments

Kerala's Own Handicraft Online Store

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

official website of GKTODAY-General Knowledge Today